The Times They Are A-Changin’

image courtesy of iStockPhoto.com

Publishing of all kinds (books, music, movies, news, magazines)  is still adapting to the new media environment. We’re living in beta as new ways to share and consume content emerge.

I thought this article in today’s New York Times (which I read on my iPad) was especially interesting: Magazines Pursue Tablets, but iPad Limits Subscriptions.

After reading,  I think you’ll agree it’s true of yourself: we all hate paying for content now, especially news. I’m accustomed to accessing the New York Times for free online. I use the free NYTimes iPad app all the time. It’s my go-to news app. But, would I pay for it? Depends how much.

Magazine publishers are still trying to figure out the best strategy. Do they charge per issue? How much? One thing is certain — I won’t be paying $4.99 for any magazine on my iPad. I think .99 cents is my limit.

UPDATE: 15 months later Flipboard is the only app I’m using to browse news on my iPhone and iPad.  The New York Times is expensive for digital subscriptions!

Leave a comment